COME YE SINNERS POOR AND NEEDY


Our country was founded on Christian principles:  To become a nation that would spread the gospel message.  This was the most important reason behind the framing of our constitution.

In my opinion, the lyrics to this song speak the gospel more succintly and profoundly than any other Christian song.  When I die, this will be the only song I will allow to be sung in my memory!  Hallelujah!

COME YE SINNERS POOR AND NEEDY

Fernando Ortega and John Andrew Schreiner

Come, ye sinners, poor and needy
Weak and wounded, sick and sore.
Jesus ready, stands to save you
Full of pity, love and power.
 
I will arise and go to Jesus
He will embrace me in His arms.
In the arms of my dear Savior
Oh, there are ten thousand charms.
 
Come ye thirsty, come and welcome
God’s free bounty glorify.
True belief and true repentance
Every grace that brings you nigh.
 
Come, ye weary, heavy laden
Lost and ruined by the fall.
If you tarry ’til you’re better
You will never come at all.
 
I will arise and go to Jesus
He will embrace me in His arms.
In the arms of my dear Savior
Oh there are ten thousand charms
 
Feel Him prostrate in the garden
On the ground your Master lies.
On the bloody tree behold Him
Sinner, will this not suffice?
 
Lo, the incarnate God ascended
Pleads the merit of His blood.
Venture on Him, Venture wholly
Let no other trust intrude.
 
I will arise and trust in Jesus
He will embrace me in His arms.
In the arms of my dear Savior
Oh there are ten thousand charms.

  1. Sinners Get Dibs « Broken Believers

Leave a Reply

