Happiness Is


Does anyone remember those old “Happiness is…” definitions that used to be in newspapers and magazines, and on billboards across the country?  Sayings like “Happiness is like jam.  You can’t even spread a little without getting some on yourself.” -anon.  Even the Peanuts comic strip incorporated the “Happiness is” craze into some of their newspaper comic strips, the most popular being “Happiness is a Warm Puppy” -Charles Shultz. 

I was reminded of this when I was about to begin my morning devotional.  The Spirit of the Lord was convicting me about what my devotions had become: a daily ritual; one of many “daily duties” that I felt was a fullfillment of one of the requirements to call myself a “Christian”.  In essence, I’ve been saying, “See You tomorrow, Jesus” and going about my other daily routines.  Not to say it is bad to have routines.  I’m just saying that Jesus should not just be one part of the Christian’s daily life, but should be the mainstay.  He should be invited to walk with us throughought the whole day; throughout all our routines and everthing else that comes across our paths.  This is the key to our happiness.  The apostle Paul figured this out when he wrote, “Rejoice always.  Pray without ceasing.  In everything give thanks to the Lord. For this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” – 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Today, I’ve been given this definition of happiness: 

Happiness is:  not ever having to say goodbye to Jesus!  You can quote me on that!

In Christ,

Brother Jim

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

