Who Am I? Day 6 of 7


 Who Am I? (A Christian’s Inherited Traits, 26 through 30 of 35)
 

26. I am chosen of God, holy and dearly loved (Col 3:12; 1 Thess. 1:4).

27. I am a son of light and not of darkness (1 Thess. 5:5).

28. I am a holy partaker of a heavenly calling (Heb. 3:1).

29. I am a partaker of Christ; I share in His life (Heb. 3:14).

30. I am one of God’s living stones, being built up in Christ as a spiritual house (1 Pet. 2:5).

Today’s Observations:

  • Traits 26 and 27 are vital to remember if we want to have Victory Over the Darkness.  If we remember that we have these traits as believers, we will live out the characteristics pertaining to those who possess these traits, namely:  merciful, kind, humble, meek, longsuffering, forbearing, and forgiving (Col. 3:12,13).  If we remember who we are in Christ, we will be less likely to live out the charachteristics of our old nature.  (See Colossians 3:1-10)
  •  Traits 28 and 29 are "partaker" traits, traits that all believers share in without exception.  We are all entitled to receiving a calling, a purpose for our lives that glorifies Christ and in following His calling in our lives we will all partake of the life of Christ; His joy as well as His sufferings (see 1 Peter 4:13). 
  •  Trait number 30 is also vital to remember because Satan will try to make us feel defeated.  We do not become complete in Him all at once, but we are being built up by him.  Our failures are just set backs and Jesus does not give up on us.  We are but one living stone being set into place among all the other living stones of God’s family that will one day become His spiritual house.  Not everything relies on me.  I like to remember the lyrics of one of my favorite Christian songwriters when I was a teenager, Keith Green.  In the chorus of his song, He’ll Take Care of the Rest it says, "Just keep doing your best, and pray that its blessed, and He’ll take care of the rest!" 

Remember, Jesus said, " My yoke is easy and my burden is light." – Mt. 11:30

With My Prayers for a Light and Easy Tuesday in Christ,

Jim 

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

