Who Am I, Day 2 of 7


continued from yesterday’s blog entry
 
Who Am I? (A Christian’s Inherited Traits, 6 through 10 of 35)
 
  • I am Chosen and appointed by Christ to bear His fruit (John 15:16).
  • I am a slave of righteousness (Rom. 6:18).
  • I am enslaved to God (Rom 6:22).
  • I am a son (daughter) of God; God is spiritually my Father (Rom. 8:14,15; Gal. 3:26; 4:6).
  • I am a joint heir with Christ, sharing His inheritance with Him (Rom. 8:17).

A few observations today: 

  1. The first three of today’s attributes describe the Christian in positional terms; the first in the sense of what we are equipped to do and the 2nd and 3rd in how we are His for keeps and there’s no turning back.
  2. The fourth and fifth attributes describe the Christian in relational terms; the fourth describes that He (the Father) relates to us as His son or daughter and we relate to Him as our (heavenly) Father; and the fifth describes how we are co-inheritors with Christ where we are valued as a son or daughter as well as a brother or sister of Christ.
  3. It is interesting (and comforting, and assuring) to note that our Father wants us to realize that we are a permanent member of His family, with all the rights and privileges that a family member is entitled to.  We are more than mere servants of the King; we are the Kings kids!  We are not just adopted into the family, but we are transformed into His children and we are now related by blood; the blood of the Lamb!

Again, I’m stoked as I begin to fully realize all Jesus has accomplished for my sake, because He desired to love me like a friend; and not like just any friend, but as a brother.  In addition, God the Father loved me so much that He sent His one and only Son to take the punishment that I deserved so that He, the Father, would have the opportunity to also love me, not just as a friend, but as His very own son.  Now that in and of it self is a reason to want to live.  And I’m not talking about just surviving, but living life in the fullness of joy!

May God Bless You with Prosperity of Spirit.  Your Brother and Friend,

Jim  

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

