Who Am I?


Below is an excerpt form Neil T. Anderson’s book, Victory Over the Darkness.  If you’re a believer in Christ, the list below tells you who you really are in Christ, His new creation.
 
Who Am I?
 
  • I am the salt of the earth (Matt. 5:13).
  • I am the light of the world (Matt. 5:14).
  • I am a child of God (John 1:12).
  • I am part of the true vine, a channel of Christ’s life (John 15:1,5).
  • I am Christ’s friend (John 15:15).

These are just five of 35 descriptions that Neil gives us.  I will update you with 5 each per day for a week to meditate upon and memorize.  I, like many of you, haven’t fully realized the transformation Jesus has made in us and continues to work in us!  I always knew that Jesus was my friend, but it is a really cool fact to realize that I am Jesus’ friend.  Think about it, He says that you are His friend.   With all our faults, warts and all, He calls us His friends!  There is nothing we can do so wrong to make Him change His mind about calling us His friends!  We became His friends for eternity when we believed in Him and acccepted His grace and mercy!  Wow!  I don’t know about you, but I’m stoked!

These descriptions remind me of an old praise chorus.  I’m sorry, but being a musician, things often remind me of a song.  Unfortunately, I don’t remember the artist  who recorded this nor the author, but  I do remember the chorus: 

"Changed into His image by the Spirit of God.  Changed into His image by the Spirit of God.  From Glory to Glory He is making us more Holy as we’re changed into His image by the Spirit of God."

My prayer for you and I is that these descriptions help you realize who you really are in Christ and help you defend yourself against the accusations and lies of the evil one so that you may be fully empowered to live a life worthy to be called a Christian (one who resembles Christ).  

With the love of Christ.  Your brother and friend,

Jim

 
  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

