The Open Fountain


Remember this good ol’ hymn, “What can wash away my sin? Nothing but the blood of Jesus.”? ZECHARIAH 13:1 says “In that day a fountain shall be opened for the house of David and for the inhabitants of Jerusalem, for sin and uncleanness.”

The fountain was opened when Christ was pierced! 1 JOHN 1:9 says, “If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive our sins and cleanse us of all unrighteousness.” I have heard it preached that once you have confessed your sins when you have received Christ as Savior, you should never have to confess them again, since He has forgiven all your sins, past, present, and future, and any further confessing of sins is likened to having Christ die all over again for our sins. I know that once we’re saved, we’re always saved, however, I do not believe that once we have confessed our sins, that we’re always “fessed up”. 1 JOHN 1:9 was written to believers. Besides, I haven’t found anywhere in the Bible that tells us that confession saves us, but that believing in our hearts that Jesus is Lord and accepting His grace towards us, that is what saves us. I’ve overheard non believers confess their sins to one another, but that doesn’t cleanse them from their sin. I have even confessed some of my own sins to God before I was a believer, but I did not yet make Him my Lord. My motive was simply in hope of having God save me from the superficial consequences of my sin, but not of the eternal consequences. I am not saying that Jesus’ blood was not powerful enough to cleanse all sin, past present and future, for it has certainly done that! I am saying that since we operate within the confines of time (where God doesn’t) I believe God requires us to confess our sins as we commit them. I believe this keeps us ever mindful of God, and ever mindful of our fallen condition that requires our continual cleansing. Just as a fountain does not pour out just once and stops flowing, for then it wouldn’t be called a fountain. His fountain hasn’t just poured out the day of His piercing, but continues to flow daily throughout eternity.

Yes, all sins were forgiven and paid for at the cross, and yes, we should not ask to be forgiven since all is forgiven except blasphemy of the Holy Spirit.  But there is a distinction between confessing and asking forgiveness.  Confessing is just admitting that we are wrong.  Confession and asking for forgiveness usually go hand in hand and we need to do that when we wrong someone.  All our wrongs against the Lord are forgiven, but He still requires confession.  Therefore I believe this “once for all time confession” doctrine is false doctrine, directly from Satan, to get God’s children out of fellowship with Him, since unconfessed sin causes our fellowship with Him to be broken. This is a heresy that I will no longer tolerate and I will rebuke anyone who tries to spread this heresy if it ever falls on my ears again!”

Confess Your Sins!  Accept the Lord’s Forgiveness!  Live Every Day In Gratitude and Give Him the Glory!

With Peace in Christ,

Jim

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

